NEISA Recognizes CGA Sailors for Excellence in Competition

NEISA Recognizes CGA Sailors for Excellence in Competition

Hanover, N.H.—The New England Intercollegiate Sailing Association (NEISA) Awards Committee recently announce this year's All-NEISA teams and post season award winners. Three Coast Guard Academy sailors, Avery Fanning, Robert Turley, and Nikole Barnes, were named to the All-NEISA First Team. Additionally, Fanning was awarded the Senior Trophy, Turley was named a finalist for the Babineau Trophy, and Barnes was given the Sportsmanship Award.

Senior All-Americans Avery Fanning and Robert Turley were named First Team All-NEISA Skipper and First Team All-NEISA Crew, respectively, after an impressive performance during the course of the 2015-2016 season. The duo never finished outside of the top-5 in A-Division at the nine interconference or championship events that they sailed. Fanning and Turley won A-Division at the Harry Anderson Trophy and finished third at the Atlantic Coast Championship, pushing the team to an overall victory.

Fanning, who made the All-NEISA First Team for the second year in a row, was also awarded the Senior Trophy. The Senior Trophy is voted on by the seniors in the conference and recognizes the senior who best exemplifies sailing achievement and sportsmanship.

"I feel so lucky and honored to be recognized by my really good friends and competitors with this award and I couldn't be more thankful to end my NEISA sailing career this way," Fanning said.

Turley was named one of three finalists for the Babineau Trophy, which is awarded to the best crew in New England. The Babineau Trophy was donated by Coast Guard Academy sailors in memory of Cadet Julia Babineau who was killed in a summer sailing accident in 1981. Although the award ultimately went to Sydney Karvosky of Harvard University, being named a finalist puts Turley among the elite.

"Being named a finalist was a little surreal, and a tribute to how much time the team has spent getting me better," commented Turley. "I never would have received it without my teammates and coaches that have helped me improve over the last four years."

Barnes, who was named the NEISA Women's Sailor of the Year just a week ago, was also recognized for her superior record in coed competition as a First Team All-NEISA Skipper. The junior All-American won B-Division at the Harry Anderson Trophy, the Danmark Trophy, and the Atlantic Coast Championship. Barnes was also given the Sportsmanship Award, which is voted on by each team in the conference. The award is not only a testament of the way in which she carries herself on the racecourse, but also demonstrates how much she is respected by her competitors.

"I am so proud of these three sailors and our entire team," said head coach Brian Swingly. "At Coast Guard we know that our cadet athletes are special individuals, that they are doing a lot of amazing things outside of sports, and that they always carry themselves with the highest class and character. It was thrilling to watch the conference recognize this as well by presenting them with these annual awards."

The Bears are currently training for two National Championships that will take place later this month in San Diego, CA. The Women's National Championship begins on May 24 and the Coed National Championship begins on May 31.


Second Team All NEISA Crews
Breanne Baldino '16 Roger Williams University
Kayla Lynch '16 Boston University
Rebecca McElvain '19 Dartmouth College
Paige Omura '17 Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Abigail Rohman '16 Dartmouth College
Caroline Salas '18 Boston University
Katherine Sudol '16 Brown University
Sara Swanson '16 Roger Williams University

First Team All NEISA Crews
Marina Cano '17 Brown University
Natalya Doris '17 Yale University
Katherine Downey '16 Boston College
Allison Ferraris '17 Boston College
Sydney Karnovsky '16 Harvard University
Clara Robertson '17 Yale University
Robert Turley '16 US Coast Guard Academy

Second Team All NEISA Skippers
Hunter Johnstone '16 Dartmouth College
Mitchell Kiss '17 Yale University
Charlie Lalumiere '17 Dartmouth College
Malcolm Lamphere '18 Yale University
Jack McGuire '17 Bowdoin College
Ravi Parent '18 Boston University
Pearson Potts '16 Brown University

First Team All NEISA Skippers
Ian Barrows '17 Yale University
Nicholas Baird '19 Yale University
Nikole Barnes '17 US Coast Guard Academy
Avery Fanning '16 US Coast Guard Academy
Andrew Mollerus '16 Harvard University
Raul Rios '16 Boston College
Scotty Sinks '18 Boston College

Student Leadership Award
Amanda Ivey '17, McGill University

Rookie of the Year
Nicholas Baird '19, Yale University

Sportsmanship (as voted on by the teams)
Nikole Barnes '17 US Coast Guard Academy

Senior Trophy (as voted on by the seniors)
Avery Fanning '16 US Coast Guard Academy

Coach of the Year
Stan Streyer Boston University

Crew of the Year
Allison Ferraris '17 Boston College ***Finalist
Sydney Karnovsky '16 Harvard University***Winner
Robert Turley '16 USCGA ***Finalist

Sailor of the Year
Ian Barrows '17 Yale University ***Winner
Raul Rios '16 Boston College ***Finalist

Photo courtesy of Rob Migliaccio.