Coast Guard to host New England Team Race Championship

Coast Guard to host New England Team Race Championship

NEW LONDON, Conn.—Coast Guard will host the 2016 New England Team Race Championship for the Leonard M. Fowle Trophy at Jacobs Rock Sailing and Seamanship Center on April 9-10. The event, which will feature the top twelve teams from New England going head to head in a round robin format, will serve as the qualifier for the Team Race National Championship.

One of college sailing's premier team racing events returns to the Thames River this weekend and will culminate the team racing season by crowing a champion and sending four teams on to the post season. Six of the last eight Team Racing National Championships have been teams from New England, demonstrating the conference's depth and competitiveness in this discipline. This year's championship, with ideal spectating at Coast Guard's world-class venue, will no doubt be exciting for all.

The Bears, who have excelled in fleet racing during the past few seasons, are on the rise in team racing and look to capitalize on the event being contested on their home waters. They have spent the majority of their offseason and beginning of the spring season prepping for this event and have consistently upped their game in each subsequent event.

Coast Guard will look to skippers Avery Fanning, Nikole Barnes, and Dana Rohde with crews Andrew Britton, Robert Turley, Hannah Herring, and Anna Morin to lead the charge during the championship.

Family, friends, and fans are encouraged to make their way down to Jacobs Rock on Saturday and Sunday to check out the racing. The first race on each day will be at 10:15 with non-stop action throughout the day. Go Bears!