Bears Hold Postseason Awards Dinner

Bears Hold Postseason Awards Dinner

The Coast Guard Academy Swimming and Diving team held their annual awards dinner at the USCGA Alumni Center. It has been an annual event since 2000, and this year marked the 19th year of the informal ceremony. The team gathered to recognize the accomplishments of the 2017-18 season.

There were several awards that were bestowed upon athletes that marked exceptional seasons for each team. The coaches awarded the Most Improved Awards to 3/c Brigit Jogan for the women, and 3/c Joseph Rodrigues for the men. Brigit showed marked improvement in the middle and distance freestyle events, and improved to score in both the 500 and 1650 free this season at NEWMAC championships. She dropped 7 seconds in the 500 and in the course of a season dropped 16 seconds in the 1000. Her 1650 time was fast enough to place 11th at the conference meet. Joseph went from a 4/c time of 20.91 and 7th at NEWMAC's in the 50 to winning the event with a new mark of 20.41 and earning NCAA Honorable Mention. His 100 free time at NCAA championships nearly scored as well (45.10) and stands as the fastest 100 free by a 3/c in CGA history.

The High Point Award and Most Valuable Athlete went to the same two athletes. 2/c Kristen Young has an impactful year scoring 217 points in dual meets (most on either team) and swam to NCAA Honorable Mention All-America on the first women's relay to swim at NCAA's in program history. Kristen placed 2nd in the 100 free and 3rd in 200 free at NEWMAC championships as well as 6th in the 50. Eric Fuhs topped the point earners for the men with 201. He was NEWMAC Rookie of the Year and won both the 100 and 200 breaststrokes at NEWMAC champs. He also earned NCAA All-America in the 200 breaststroke after setting the NEWMAC meet record in that event. Eric is now the CGA record holder in the 200 IM and 200 Breaststroke.

The season was capped by 12 new CGA school records and improved dual meet records for both teams. The largest group of CGA swimmers in team history attended NCAA championship with 10 athletes representing the Academy. All ten NCAA athletes scored points. These athletes were 4/c Emily Benson, Eric Fuhs, and Sarah Passilla, 3/c Joe Rodrigues, 2/c Patrick Jackson, Christine McCulla, Taylor Rowe, Chasse Sodemann, Kristen Durham-Young and 1/c Ross Garrett. There were three different male divers that made NCAA qualifying scores in the 2017-18 season, (2/c Will French, 3/c Drew Cheneler and 4/c MJ Seguin) this is an extraordinary number for any Division III program.

The captains for the 2018-19 season were also announced. The women will be lead by CeCe Marzinsky, Brooke Harkrader, and Kristen Young. The men's captains are Robert (Trip) Jackson, Justin Kang and Taylor Rowe.

Bears Fall to #4 MIT
January 13, 2018 Bears Fall to #4 MIT
Bears Beat Babson 152-72
January 11, 2018 Bears Beat Babson 152-72
Bears Capture CT Cup
December 2, 2017 Bears Capture CT Cup