Bear Trio Named to NEWMAC All-Conference Team

Bear Trio Named to NEWMAC All-Conference Team

NEW LONDON, Conn.--Coast Guard had three senior pitchers named to the New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) All-conference teams in voting by the leagues seven head coaches.

Senior Derek Petty was named to the first team, earning All-conference honors for the first time in his career. The right-hander has worked 66 innings on the year, leading the team in wins with five (against three losses) while also picking up a pair of saves in relief. His 1.77 ERA ranks fourth (second among those with 50+ innings pitched) in the NEWMAC and he recorded one of the two complete-game shutouts tossed by Coast Guard pitchers on the season and his 49 strikeouts lead the team. In holding opponents to a miniscule .236 average he allowed just eight extra base hits. Petty was even better in NEWMAC play posting a 0.77 ERA while picking up three wins.

Senior Nate Toll was named to the second team also earning All-conference honors for the first time in his career. Toll served as the Friday starting pitcher this year and really set the tone for the weekend for the pitching staff as he recorded a 2.37 earned run average. He recorded four wins against four losses in 12 appearances totaling 49 1/3 innings. Of the 47 hits he allowed, less than a quarter (10) went for extra bases as he held opponents to just a .254 batting average. Toll ranked second on the team in strikeouts with 31.

Senior Tyler Vieira is a two-time selection to the All-conference team, being selected as a second-team  teamer this year after earning second team honors in 2011. The side-winder primarily served as the team's closer this season, racking up seven saves and recording four victories against no losses. He compiled an impressive 2.14 earned run average in 33 2/3 innings of work. He is the only pitcher in Division III with 5+ saves and a complete game shutout. For the season he has surrendered just four extra-base hits while limiting opponents to a .254 average.

The Bears, who finished the regular season with a record of 22-16, earned a berth to the ECAC New England tournament. Coast Guard earned the fifth-seed and will host fourth-seeded Husson on Thursday at 3:30 p.m. The game was originally scheduled for Wednesday, but moved due to impending weather and Husson's five-hour plus bus trip to New London.

2013 Baseball All-Conference Team and Award Winners


NEWMAC Player of the Year: 

Eric Jensen, Wheaton


NEWMAC Pitcher of the Year: 

Alec Palioca, Wheaton


NEWMAC Rookie of the Year: 

Alex Venditti, WPI


NEWMAC Tournament Most Outstanding Player:

Sean Ryan, Wheaton


NEWMAC Coach of the Year: 

Andy Barlow, MIT


NEWMAC Sportsmanship Award: 

Wheaton College


First Team All-Conference

Trevor Boyce, Babson

Chris Kucher, Babson

Derek Petty, Coast Guard

Creed Mangrum, MIT

Apolinar De la Cruz, Wheaton

Frank Holbrook, Wheaton

Eric Jensen, Wheaton

Alec Palioca, Wheaton

Sean Ryan, Wheaton


Second Team All-Conference

Michael Bortolotti, Babson

Andrew Leblanc, Clark 

Nate Toll, Coast Guard

Tyler Vieira, Coast Guard

Hayden Cornwell, MIT

Aric Dama, MIT

Max Ockner, MIT

Dan Gusovsky, Wheaton

Alex Venditti, WPI

2013 Baseball Preview
March 4, 2013 2013 Baseball Preview