Seniors Honored at Annual Athletic Awards Ceremony

Seniors Honored at Annual Athletic Awards Ceremony

NEW LONDON, Conn. -- The Coast Guard Academy Athletic Department held its annual Athletic Awards Ceremony tonight in the Otto Graham Hall of Athletic Excellence.

All seniors were presented with a watch in appreciation for their hard work and dedication over the past four years.

Nick Remke, Brian Kim and Helen Oh headlined the event by winning the Co-Most Outstanding Senior Male and Female Athlete, respectively. The award annually goes to the male and female cadet-athlete for excellence over their four years.

Remke, a two-year team captain, had a standout career wrestling and is one of the best to wear a CGA singlet. Nick earned All-American, placing fifth in the nation as a junior. He then qualified for the NCAA Championships again as a senior. He was a three-time All-Region wrestler and a two-time NCAA Qualifier and a three-time Scholar All-American. Remke was ranked in the top 10 nationally for his weight class for each of the last two years. He held a career record of 82-27 and was 22-8 in his senior year.

Kim has earned eleven All-American honors, one shy from the all-time men's record. He won six Individual Collegiate National Championships in his four-year collegiate career. Kim was also a member of four winning Team Collegiate National Championships. Brian was the first ever Coast Guard shooter to win the Individual Aggregate Collegiate National Championship in 2017. He culminated his collegiate pistol career by being a firing member of the Coast Guard team which won their first Open Team Aggregate Collegiate National Championship in the Academy's history.

Oh has been the most dominate shooter in the history of collegiate pistol shooting. She has earned more All-American honors, sixteen, than any other collegiate shooter on record. Oh won the Women's Aggregate Collegiate National Championship and the Open Collegiate National Championship for the first time in history in 2018. She won both aggregates again this year. She won eleven Individual Collegiate National Championships and was a member of eight winning Team Collegiate National Championships in her career. Oh culminated her collegiate pistol career by leading the Coast Guard team to their first Open Team Aggregate Collegiate National Championship in their history.

Nolan Benson of the men's basketball team was presented with the Roger K. Guyas Comeback Award which is given for the best comeback from a serious injury.

Colin Fenster was the recipient of the Tommy Award given each year to the most inspirational senior male athlete.

The Captain Lee H. Baker Award, given to the most inspirational senior female athlete, was awarded to Anita Green, a member of the women's cross country and track teams.

The Captain Paul F. Foye Memorial Unsung Hero Award went to Jack Brandt, who was the captain of both the baseball and football teams.

The Connecticut American Legion presented to the most improved male and female athlete over four years were given to Jeremy Lhotka for his improvement in baseball while Kristina Bynum from the cross track and field team took home the female honors.

In addition to the upper classmen, two freshmen were also honored with awards on the night. Wrestler Paul Detwiler and swimmer Josie McGuire were awarded the CGA Fourth Class Rookie of the Year Awards which are given, each year, to the Most Outstanding Male and Female Freshmen Athletes.

Detwiler, the New England Rookie of the Year, earned All-region and All-conference honors honors and was an NCAA qualifier at 184 pounds, the first CGA freshman to earn an NCAA invite since 2011. He finished 21-7 and was ranked as high as second nationally during the season.  McGuire earned All-America honors as a member of the 800 free relay which also on won the NEWMAC championship in a meet and CGA record time.  She won 21 of 23 dual meet races this season.

The Captain Carl Selin Awards, given to the highest scoring male and female on the PFE, went to three cadets who earned perfect scores of 600. Senior Ben Taminger was the male recipient while two females shared the honor with perfect scores, seniors Nina Ragle and Green.

This year's Student-Athlete Advisory Committee (SAAC) Award went, to senior Scott Salmon for his outstanding support of numerous Coast Guard Athletic teams.

The Paul Duddy Awards were presented to one senior male and one senior female that best represent Coast Guard Athletics both on and off the field. This year, those honors went to Brandt and Green.

The Class of 2019 will hold their commencement ceremony tomorrow morning at 11:00 am at Cadet Memorial Field.