Rohde, Ekin Named CGASPORTS.COM Athletes of the Week

Photo: Rob Migliaccio
Photo: Rob Migliaccio

NEW LONDON, Conn. - Senior Dana Rohde and sophomore Maddie Ekin have been named CGASPORTS.COM Athletes of the Week, presented by First Command after both earned NEISA postseason awards.

Rohde was named the NEISA Women's Sailor of the Year while Ekin was named the NEISA Women's Crew of the Year. These prestigious awards, given annually at the conclusion of racing at the NEISA Women's Championship, are well deserved after a highly successful 2017-2018 women's campaign.

Rohde and Ekin have been dominant on the women's circuit this season. They have competed together at eight interconference or championship events this season, finishing within the top-5 in A-Division at each of them. Their regular season was highlighted by A-Division wins at the Yale Women's Interconference, the NEISA Fall Women's Championship for the Victorian Coffee Urn, the Navy Spring Women's Interconference, and the St. Mary's Women's Interconference.

Lead by Ekin and Rohde who won A-Division, the women's team finished third at the 2017 Women's Atlantic Coast Championship. The women's team most recently finished third at the New England Women's Championship for the Reed Trophy, where Ekin and Rohde finished third in A-Division.

Rohde also had a stellar singlehanded season. She won the NEISA Women's Singlehanded Championship which advanced her to the ICSA Women's Singlehanded National Championship in St. Petersburg, FL. Rohde went on to finish second at the National Championship, losing a tie breaker for the overall title.

On top of being awarded the sailor and crew of the year, Rohde was named an All-NEISA Women's First Team Skipper and Ekin was named an All-NEISA Women's First Team Crew.

The women's team is now preparing for their sixth consecutive trip to the ICSA Sperry Women's National Championship, where they will continue to be among the favorites. As the top boat coming out of NEISA – the most competitive women's conference in the country – Rohde and Ekin will lead the Bears into the post season.