Bears Place Four on All-Academic team

NEW LONDON, Conn.--(5/3/12)--The Coast Guard Academy placed four cadet-athletes on the New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) Men's Track and Field Academic All-Conference Team.

Senior Katie Schumacher (Civil Engineering) earned a spot on the team for the third straight season while junior Julia Kane (Electrical Engineering) was named for the second straight season.

Sophomores Kelcie Laroche (Marine and Environmental Sciences) and Hannah Seeland (Mechanical Engineering) were each named to the team for the first time.

Honorees must have met the following criteria: earned a minimum cumulative GPA of 3.5/4.0 scale or 4.35/5.0 scale after the 2011 fall semester, achieved second year academic status at her institution, and been a member of the varsity team for the entire season.

The New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference consists of 10 highly selective institutions committed to academic excellence: Babson College, Clark University, U.S Coast Guard Academy, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Mount Holyoke College, Smith College, Springfield College, Wellesley College, Wheaton College, and Worcester Polytechnic Institute.