Trio Named to NEWMAC All-Academic team

NEW LONDON, Conn.--(2/27/12)--Senior Sarah Jane Otey was named to the New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) All-Academic team for the third straight season, one of three Bears named to the team.

Otey, a Marine and Environmental Science major, was joined on the team by junior Erin Talbot (Mechanical Engineering), who was named for the second time in her career and sophomore Cathy Durand (Marine and Environmental Science), who made it in her first year of eligibility.

Honorees must have met the following criteria: earned a minimum cumulative GPA of 3.5/4.0 scale or 4.35/5.0 scale after the 2011 fall semester, achieved second year academic status at his institution, and been a member of the varsity team for the entire season.

The New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference consists of 10 highly selective institutions committed to academic excellence: Babson College, Clark University, U.S Coast Guard Academy, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Mount Holyoke College, Smith College, Springfield College, Wellesley College, Wheaton College, and Worcester Polytechnic Institute.