Marsh, Dilley Earn All-Conference Honors at NEWMAC Championship

Marsh, Dilley Earn All-Conference Honors at NEWMAC Championship
WORCESTER, Mass. -- Wellesley College crew took first place in all four races to win the 2018 New England Women's & Men's Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) Rowing Championship on Saturday at the Donahue Rowing Center on Lake Quinsigamond.

Sophomore Marissa Marsh and Junior Jacquelyn Dilley were named second team All-conference from Coast Guard.
Wellesley wins the conference title for the eighth consecutive year and the ninth time in program history to earn the NEWMAC's automatic bid to the 2018 NCAA Division III Championship at Nathan Benderson Park in Sarasota, Fla. The Blue will represent the NEWMAC for a ninth consecutive year at this year's NCAA Championships.
Wellesley's sweep of the Varsity Eight, Second Varsity Eight, Third Varsity Eight, and Fourth Varsity Eight races helped the Blue clinch the Florence Jope Smith Cup, awarded annually to the school with the highest number of points from the overall results at the NEWMAC Championship.
Wellesley, who has now won the overall points award for eight straight years, finished first with 44 points. The Blue were followed by WPI in second with 30 points. Smith College was third with 22 points, followed by Simmons in fourth with 16 points, Coast Guard in fifth with 12 points, Mount Holyoke in sixth with eight points and Clark in seventh with four points.
The Blue also swept the major awards with Kelsey Campbell being named 2018 NEWMAC Rower of the Year and Sydney Stento tabbed as the 2018 Coxswain of the Year. 
Wellesley captured the varsity eight in a time of 7:07.298 with the host Engineers crossing the line in a time of 7:10.662. Smith took third (7:23.686), followed by Simmons, Coast Guard, Mount Holyoke and Clark. It was a wider margin of victory in the second varsity eight, which featured the same order of finish, as Wellesley handed in a 7:22.929 compared to WPI's 7:31.655. Smith reached the finish line in a time of 7:50.732.
In arguably the most dramatic race of the day, WPI (7:44.751) led the third varsity until Wellesley (7:41.900) passed them with about 500 meters to go and then held off a late Crimson and Gray charge. Smith ended up third. In the first race of the day, the Blue used an 8:04.500 to take the head-to-head fourth varsity eight with WPI.
Release Courtesy Wellesley and WPI Sports Information

Saturday April 28, 2018 - at Lake Quinsigamond, Worcester MA - Hosted by WPI
Event #1 - Fourth Varsity Eight       Time
1)      Wellesley                                 8:04.5
2)      WPI                                         8:28.786
Event #2 - Third Varsity Eight        Time
1)      Wellesley                                 7:41.9
2)      WPI                                         7:44.751
3)      Smith                                       8:44.298
Event #3- Second Varsity Eight       Time
1)      Wellesley                                 7:22.929    
2)      WPI                                         7:31.655
3)      Smith                                       7:50.732
4)      Simmons                                 8:04.419
5)      Coast Guard                             8:13.638
6)      Mount Holyoke                        8:18.938
7)      Clark                                        8:39.985
Event #4 - Varsity Eight                   Time
1)      Wellesley                                 7:07.298    
2)      WPI                                         7:10.662
3)      Smith                                       7:23.686    
4)      Simmons                                 7:38.045
5)      Coast Guard                             7:40.814
6)      Mount Holyoke                        7:47.820
7)      Clark                                        8:07.230
The Florence Smith Cup is awarded to the school with the highest number of points from today's overall results. Scoring is calculated using a point system on the fact that there are a total of seven schools in today's competition 
(Point totals: Seven-boat races: 14, 12, 10, 8, 6, 4, 2; Six-boat races: 12, 10, 8, 6 4, 2; Five-boat races: 10, 8, 6, 4, 2; Four-boat races: 8,6,4,2; Three-boat races: 6,4,2, Two-boat races 4,2)
Wellesley = 44 points
WPI = 30 points
Smith = 22 points
Simmons = 16 points
Coast Guard = 12 points
Mount Holyoke = 8 points
Clark = 4 points
New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference
2018 All-NEWMAC Women's Rowing Team
First Team
Student-Athlete      College                      Cl        Hometown
Kelsey Campbell         Wellesley                     Sr         Broomfield, CO
Meg Babikian              Wellesley                     Sr         Belmont, MA
Liz Shumway              Wellesley                     Sr         Eden Praire, MN
Christine Hovermale   WPI                             So        Alameda, CA 
Marlies de Jong           WPI                             Jr         Huntington Beach, CA          
Kinsey McNamara      WPI                             Jr         Chelmsford, MA
Lucy Jensen                Smith                           Fr         River Forest, IL         
Julianne Eppley           Smith                           Sr         Greenville, PA                                                           
Sydney Stento (cox)    Wellesley                     Sr         Boise, ID        
Second Team
Student-Athlete         College                        Cl        Hometown
Marissa Marsh            Coast Guard                So        Vienna, VA                                                    
Jacquelyn Dilley         Coast Guard                Jr         Steialcoom, WA        
Samantha Kelsey        Simmons                     Fr         Salt Lake City, UT
Veronica Bennett        Simmons                     Sr         Pottstown, PA
Liz Hazen                    Mount Holyoke           So        Brookline,  MA
Arita Lawson              Mount Holyoke           Sr         Washington, DC
Halley Glier                Clark                           Jr         Shelburne, MA          
Emily Ladda               Clark                           Jr         Farmington, CT
Madison Healey (cox) WPI                             Jr         Atkinson, NH             
Rower of the Year - Kelsey Campbell - Wellesley
Coxswain of the Year - Sydney Stento - Wellesley