Bears Place 2nd at Lowell

Tess Heimerman
Tess Heimerman
LOWELL, Mass. – Coast Guard's Varsity 8 and Second Varsity 8 placed second.

Colby won the V8 race with a time of 6:47.2 while the Bears cross the finish line in 6:59.8 ahead of UMass Lowell (7:04.7).

In the 2V8 race Colby won in 6:52. 7 while Coast Guard had a time of 7:06.

"Both boats had very solid races today. The 2V has been showing marked improvement with each week, and this was no exception," said head coach Jodi Hope.

The women held contact with Colby through the 1000, at which point Colby was able to pull away to an open-water lead. The Bears continued to dig in deep and work their race plan, holding strong through the end. Conditions taken into consideration (5mph tail wind and tail current this weekend), this boat dropped a lot of time off their 2K from last week (7:50.7 - 7:06.0). 

"What makes this result even more impressive is it was the first-ever 2K as a rower for Kirsten Sharp, who coxed last week's races," added Hope. "Due to windy conditions this week, Kirsten had only two practices on the water to learn how to row and prepare for racing!  I am proud of the very impressive job she and the other eight women did today."

In the 1V, Colby jumped out to an early lead and continued to build on that lead over the course of the race.  Coast Guard and UMass Lowell were overlapped coming through the first 1000, but the Bears made an effective move in the 3rd 500 to take seats, and finished more than a length ahead of that crew. Coast Guard made great gains this week in the strategic aspects of their race plan, and rowed a very powerful race. 

"On the technical side, we lost a little speed in the tail wind/tail current conditions - sluggish catches cost the crew time in the fast conditions. Overall, it was a great race for the Bears, and we can look ahead to continuing to squeeze out more speed each week," said Hope.

Coast Guard is back in action on Saturday against Mount Holyoke and Johnson and Wales at 9:00.

The Bears Varsity 8 lineup was:

C – Kathryn Haerr

8 – Sarah Kukich

7 – Zoe Bolling

6 – Karisa Maurer

5 – Tess Heimerman

4 – Savannah Lyle

3 – Jacquelyn Dilley

2 – Tara Strauss

1 – Laura Beck


The Second Varsity 8 lineup was:

C – Victoria Castleberry

8 – Makenzy Karnehm

7 – Megan Sackett

6 – Savanna Fordham

5 – Jessica Baek

4 – Kirsten Sharp

3 – Maral Toukhanian

2 – Silvia Rodriguez Rios

1 – Sarah Chen