Bears Place 2nd at NEWMAC Championship

WORCESTER, MASS.--(4/21/12)--Coast Guard's Varsity 8, ranked fourth nationally, lost to sixth ranked Wellesley by just under four seconds at the NEWMAC Championship as the Blue won the NEWMAC Championship for the second straight season.

The Bears placed second for the second straight season finishing in 7:30.3 while Wellesley posted a time of 7:26.4.

The Blue also won the second varsity 8 and novice eight race while Smith captured the third varsity 8 race.

Following the races, the 2012 all-conference honorees were announced. The varsity selections are: Genevieve DeAngelis (Malden, Mass.) and Katy Nowoswiat (Lowell, Mass.) of Clark University; Holly Madden (Shrinking Spring, Pa.) and Sarah Jane Otey (Littleton, Colo.) of Coast Guard; Carol Still (Fort Myers, Fla.) and Hattie Gemerchak (Shaker Heights, Ohio) of Mount Holyoke; Jessica Frey (Andover, Mass.) and Patty Suquilanda (Greenwich, Conn.) of Wellesley; and Brooke Cotta (Bristol, R.I.) and Suzanna Kelley (Attleboro, Mass.) of WPI.

The novice selections included Katie Baldyga (Unionville, Conn.) of Clark; Brynna Cooke (Salem, Conn.) of Coast Guard; Samantha Marsden (Eugene, Ore.) of Mount Holyoke; Caroline Finn (Woodbridge, Va.) of Smith; Loren Lock (Fond Du Lac, Wis.) of Wellesley and Corre Steele (Stow, Mass.) of WPI.

Coast Guard will look to bounce back in two weeks at the New England Championships in Worcester with an opportunity to better their chances at a bid to the NCAA Division III Championship.

Here was the Coast Guard lineup:
Women's Varsity Eight
C: Julianna Harvin
8 Holly Madden
7 Sarah Jane Otey
6 Jessica Ward
5 Erin Nolan
4 Catherine Schmitz
3 Kelli Normoyle
2 Brynna Cooke
1 Tiffany Zehnle

Women's Second Varsity Eight
C: Jamie Wright
8 Judy Hooymans
7 Cathy Durand
6 Lexie Ludewig
5 Emily Balingit-Clark
4 Megan Geboski
3 Maren Balke
2 Rachel Rand
1 Tahnee Zaccano

Women's Novice Eight
C: Lilli Simon
8 Alexis Chavarria-Aguilar
7 Elaine Dana
6 Deaven Yee
5 Laurin Smith
4 Ainsley Stringfield
3 Rosie Santrach
2 Nicky Morin
1 Virginia Stoddard


Varsity 8:
Wellesley 7:26.4
Coast Guard 7:30.3
Smith 7:37.3
WPI 7:38.1
Mt Holyoke 8:02.1
Clark 8:17.3

2nd Varsity 8:
Wellesley 7:43.9
WPI 7:49.6
Smith 7:56.4
Coast Guard 8:02.2
Mt Holyoke 8:16.0

Smith 8:01.5
WPI 8:02.2
Mt Holyoke 8:43.8

Frosh/Novice 8:
Wellesley 7:49.2
Smith 7:59.2
Mt Holyoke 8:10.1
Coast Guard 8:10.1