Bears Place 7 On NEWMAC All-Academic team

NEW LONDON, CONN.--(4/26/12)--The Coast Guard Academy placed seven cadet-athletes on the New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) Women's Rowing Academic All-Conference Team.

Seniors Holly Madden (Civil Engineering), Erin Nolan (Mechanical Engineering) and Sarah Jane Otey (Marine and Environmental Sciences), junior Jess Ward (Mechanical Engineering) along with sophomores Catherine Durand (Marine and Environmental Sciences), Judy Hooymans (Electrical Engineering) and Alyssa Turner (Marine and Environmental Sciences) were honored from Coast Guard.

The Bears, ranked fifth nationally, finished second at the NEWMAC Championship for the second straight season.

Honorees must have met the following criteria: earned a minimum cumulative GPA of 3.5/4.0 scale or 4.35/5.0 scale after the 2011 fall semester, achieved second year academic status at her institution, and been a member of the varsity team for the entire season.

The New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference consists of 10 highly selective institutions committed to academic excellence: Babson College, Clark University, U.S Coast Guard Academy, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Mount Holyoke College, Smith College, Springfield College, Wellesley College, Wheaton College, and Worcester Polytechnic Institute.