Richardson Named Top Rookie; Three Earn All-Conference

Richardson Named Top Rookie; Three Earn All-Conference

NEW LONDON, Conn.--(5/7/12)--Coast Guard Academy freshman catcher Jesse Richardson has been named the New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) Rookie of the Year and a first team All-conference selection joined on the first team by senior All-American pitcher Hayley Feindel and junior designated player Holli Bastinck for the NEWMAC tournament champion Bears.

Coast Guard, 26-17 overall, won its third straight NEWMAC tournament championship by winning three games on Saturday to become the first sixth-seed to win the conference tournament.

Richardson was second in the NEWMAC with a .451 batting average with 10 doubles, three homers and 26 RBI's and set a single-season school record with 45 runs scored and leads the team with a .523 on-base percentage. She hit safely in all seven NEWMAC tournament games hitting at a .462 clip in the conference tournament.

Bastinck is having a tremendous year at the plate as she leads the NEWMAC with a .465 batting average and leads the team with nine homers, 49 RBI's and a .708 slugging percentage. The junior was outstanding in the NEWMAC tournament hitting .565 with four homers and 14 RBI's with a 1.087 slugging percentage. She also hit safely in 15 of the 16 NEWMAC regular season games and has a hit in 25 of the Bears last 26 games.

Feindel, the NCAA Division III all-time leader in wins (122) and strikeouts (1,431) led the conference with 19 wins and 225 strikeouts as she has a record of 19-8 with a 1.81 ERA and eight shutouts despite missing 16 games with a broken finger.

She is also the NCAA Division III all-time leader in innings pitched (1,000.7), games (156), games started (152), complete games (136) and she is second all-time in Division III with 61 shutouts. Feindel has a career record of 122-28 with nine no-hitters and a pair of perfect games.

The fifth-seeded Bears open play in the NCAA Division III tournament on Thursday vs. fourth-seeded Ithaca (30-12), at 1:30 p.m. at Eastern Connecticut State University.

NEWMAC Player of the Year:
Catie Funk, Babson

NEWMAC Pitcher of the Year:
Ashley Marino, Springfield
NEWMAC Rookie of the Year:
Jesse Richardson, Coast Guard

NEWMAC Coach of the Year:
Julie Perrelli, Springfield

NEWMAC Sportsmanship Award:

First Team All-Conference
Catie Funk, Babson
Nicole Latini, Babson
Holli Bastinck, Coast Guard
Hayley Feindel, Coast Guard
Jesse Richardson, Coast Guard
Kelly Blake, Springfield
Breann Joyce, Springfield
Ashley Marino, Springfield
Lauren Goldfarb, Wellesley

Second Team All-Conference
Kelly King, Babson
Erin Murphy, Clark
Kasey Kelly, Springfield
Christina Leader, Springfield
Jenna Rocha, Wheaton
Megan Roy, Wheaton
Katie Bumila, WPI
Lauren DiFelice, WPI
Erin Flaherty, WPI

Wellesley Sweeps Bears
April 13, 2012 Wellesley Sweeps Bears
WPI Sweeps Bears
March 31, 2012 WPI Sweeps Bears
Bears Sweep Smith
March 30, 2012 Bears Sweep Smith
Bears Beat Trinity 8-4
March 27, 2012 Bears Beat Trinity 8-4