As 2016 winds down, we have look backed at the Top Ten moments in Varsity Athletics from the calendar year. Today we announce the top moment.

We hope you all enjoy the holiday season and Happy New Year!


It was a season for the ages for the Coast Guard Academy sailing programs as the women's team won its first ever national championship, the co-ed team placed second at nationals and junior Nikki Barnes was named the Women's Sailor of the Year.

The Bears Women's Sailing Team won the 2016 Sperry Women's National Championship for the Geral C. Miller Trophy in dominating fashion, finishing 40 points ahead of second place Brown University.

After racing, awards were presented at the San Diego Port Pier, for the top teams and also for the first place finishers in each division. Barnes and Anna Morin won the Madeleine Trophy, awarded to the low-point A- division team. They finished with 60 points total, an impressive 50 points ahead of the second place pairing from Dartmouth College.

Dana Rohde and Hannah Herring finished 5th in B-Division with 144 points. They put up three race wins and nine races in the top-8 during the course of the eighteen race series.

The Quantum Women's Sailor of the Year was announced during an awards presentation at the San Diego Port Pier after racing at the Sperry Women's National Championship with the award going to Barnes.

This is awarded annually to an individual who has performed at the highest level of competition in district and national championships. The ICSA All-America committee evaluates with great detail all of the finalists' results and calculates the winner.
A week later, the co-ed team finished second with 262 points and won the Oxford Trophy for the second year in a row. 

Seniors Avery Fanning and Robert Turley closed out an incredible career with a fourth place finish in A-Division. They totaled 135 points and finished in the top-8 in twelve out of eighteen races. Barnes and Morin finished second in B-Division with 127 points. They won five races throughout the course of the regatta.

The Bears had an astonishing five members earn All-America honors from The Intercollegiate Sailing Association (ICSA) as Avery Fanning, Robert Turley, Barnes, Rohde and Morin were all honors.