Men's Track Places 5 on NEWMAC All-Academic Team

NEW LONDON, Conn.—The Coast Guard Academy placed five cadet-athletes on the New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) Men's Track and Field Academic All-conference team.

The Bears also took home the NEWMAC Sportsmanship Award in men's track and field this season.

Senior Ian Sankey (Mechanical Engineering) and junior Ben Wolhaupter (Civil Engineering) were named to the team for the second time.

Sophomores Stephen Horvath (Mechanical Engineering), Ryan Hub (Electrical Engineering) and Joey O'Connell (Mechanical Engineering) were named to the team in their first year of eligibility for the Academic All-conference team.

Honorees must have met the following criteria: earned a minimum cumulative GPA of 3.5/4.0 scale or 4.35/5.0 scale after the 2012 fall semester, achieved second year academic status at her institution, and been a member of the varsity team for the entire season.

The New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference consists of 10 highly selective institutions committed to academic excellence: Babson College, Clark University, U.S Coast Guard Academy, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Mount Holyoke College, Smith College, Springfield College, Wellesley College, Wheaton College, and Worcester Polytechnic Institute.