Eleven named NEFC All-Academic

Eleven named NEFC All-Academic

NEW LONDON, Conn.-The Coast Guard Academy placed 11 players on the New England Football Conference (NEFC) All-Academic team as announced by the conference.

The senior and sophomore classes co-led the way with five players named to the team from each class.

Seniors Nick Frederickson (WR, Operations Research and Computer Analysis), Evan Rothfeld (DB, Government), and Mike Vitrano (OL, Management) were each named to the team for the third consecutive season. Additionally, senior defensive lineman Andrew Gathy (Management) and linebacker Nick Phillips (Government) were each selected to the team for the first time.

Linebacker Nolan Salyer (Marine and Environmental Sciences) was the only junior to make the team, doing so for the second consecutive year.

Sophomore linebackers Paul Puddington (Civil Engineering) and Ross Markham (Naval Architecture and Marine Engineering), along with classmates defensive back Eli Maurer (Operations Research and Computer Analysis), defensive lineman Nick Egersdorf (Government), and offensive lineman Koachar Mohammad (Management) were each named ot the All-Academic team in their first year of eligibility.

To earn a spot on the NEFC All-Academic team, a player must have completed three semesters at the same institution with a cumulative GPA of 3.0 or better on a 4.0 scale.