Academy Holds Annual Athletic Awards Ceremony

Academy Holds Annual Athletic Awards Ceremony

NEW LONDON, Conn.-The Coast Guard Academy Athletic Department held its annual Athletic Awards Ceremony tonight at the John S. Merriman Gymnasium.

All seniors were presented with a watch in appreciation for their hard work and dedication over the past four years.

Tyler Henning and Meghan Fornaro headlined the event by winning the Most Outstanding Senior Male and Female Athlete, respectively. The award annually goes to one male and one female cadet-athlete for excellence over their four years. Henning was named a second team All-American punter this season as he was sixth in the nation in punting, the first Coast Guard football All-American in nine years. He also finished his career tied for the most field goals. Fornaro was named the New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) Women's Basketball Player of the Year and a first team All-Region selection as she led the league with 19.5 points per game. She is third all-time at the Academy with 1,439 points and her 506 points this season was the fourth most in a single-season.

The Captain Paul F. Foye Memorial Unsung Hero Award went to Mike Clancy of the football team.

Kyle Wood, a member of both the football and baseball teams, was the recipient of the Tommy Award given each year to the most inspirational senior male athlete.The Captain Lee H. Baker Award, given to the most inspirational senior female athlete, was awarded to Torie Sutherland, member of the women's basketball team.

Men's basketball Ricky Rodriguez won the Roger K. Guyas Comeback Award which is given for the best comeback from a serious injury.

The Connecticut American Legion presented a pair of new awards honoring the most improved male and female athlete over four years. Kevin Alvarez of the men's basketball team was the male recipient while Tara Larkin from the track and field team took home the female honors.

In addition to the upper classmen, two freshmen were also honored with awards on the night. Men's swimmer Taylor Rowe and softball player Hayden Short were awarded the CGA Fourth Class Rookie of the Year Awards which are given, each year, to the Most Outstanding Male and Female Freshmen Athletes.

The Captain Carl Selin Awards, given to the highest scoring male and female on the PFE, went to junior Gilliam Hill (perfect 600 points) and freshman Anita Green (599 points), both of whom are members of the cross country and track teams.

This year's Student-Athlete Advisory Committee (SAAC) Award went, to senior Mark Guentert for his outstanding support of numerous Coast Guard Athletic teams.

The Paul Duddy Awards were presented to one senior male and one senior female that best represent Coast Guard Athletics both on and off the field. This year, those honors went to Wood and Sutherland.

The Class of 2016 will hold their commencement ceremony tomorrow morning at 11:00 am at Cadet Memorial Field.